Larceny has been available for the SPARC since 1999. Common Larceny became available in November 2004. Petit Larceny became available in June 2005. R6RS compatibility was added in November 2007. In March 2015, Larceny was upgraded to the R7RS (small) standard.

The Larceny project started in 1991 at the University of Oregon under the direction of William D Clinger; most of the original implementation was written during 1991 and 1992 by Lars T Hansen. Development of Larceny resumed after Clinger and then Hansen moved to Northeastern University. Hansen began to develop Petit Larceny following the first release of Larceny in 1999; he also wrote the Intel IA32 and ARMv7 native code generators. Common Larceny, which is based on Petit Larceny, was developed in 2002-2004 by Ryan Culpepper, Joe Marshall, Dale Vaillancourt, and others under the direction of Clinger and Matthias Felleisen. The more recent versions of these systems were built by Clinger, Hansen, Felix Klock, Jesse Tov, and Chris Burns.


The Larceny development team gratefully acknowledges those who have contributed major components of this software:

  • Jonathan Kraut developed the Sassy assembler for IA32 and released it under the LGPL. Sassy is a core component of native Larceny on Intel-compatible machines.
  • Andre van Tonder developed a highly portable ERR5RS/R6RS library/macro expander, which is the core of Larceny's implementation of R7RS and the R6RS.
  • Matthew Flatt made PLT Scheme's R6RS test suite available to all implementors of the R6RS, and granted us permission to revise it as necessary for the R7RS.
  • Bill Schottstaedt made test suites for arithmetic available to all implementors of the R5RS and R6RS.
  • Marc Feeley contributed the original code for Larceny's pretty printer.
  • Kevin McLarnon wrote a patch that opts out of DEP under Windows.
  • Several other contributers are identified in the COPYRIGHT file.
  • Dave Herman improved the look of Larceny's web site.